Posted in Nmap

Ups and downs

I started out my morning by going to the maker space to learn more about their project. They want to be able to ping users’ devices and use the results to list on their website the members who are currently in the space. The hope is that others will see this list, and will be incentivized to show up as well. Stretch goal is to implement a Leader Board, ranking members by the amount of time that they spend in the space.

As mentioned before, one of the hardest parts about this career change is keeping up with the conversations of senior programmers. I’m new to the vernacular, and am so fresh to the coding world that I often don’t even know what it is that I don’t know. The guys today suggested I start by exploring some of the things that they’re using for the project. So, I began by looking into Unix and Nmap. I’m still not entirely sure what Unix is or how it differs from the command line that I’ve been using (the commands seem the same…?), but Nmap has been interesting to explore. I’ve worked through the very introductory tutorial here.

Exposing my ignorance:

In order to fully comprehend this tutorial, there are more terms I need to explore.

  • Host
  • Router
  • How IP addresses work
  • Network
  • Ports

All terms that I’ve heard a million times, but which I’m realizing I don’t really fully understand. I feel lost at the end of days like today. But, I have to remember how much more I understand now than I understood 6 months ago. In 6 more months, I’ll be lightyears beyond where I am now. Always learning.
___________

Then, I had my mock technical interview. Unfortunately, due to internet issues, the interviewer kept cutting in and out. I only heard every third word that he said, making the interview pretty incomprehensible. I could tell he was frustrated with my inability to understand him and with me frequently having to ask him to repeat himself. Needless to say, it did not go well. Plus side: He asked me a coding question that I’ve never encountered before, so it’s going to be a good exercise to add to my stack of white-boarding questions.

Leave a Reply

